9 Comments
Jan 23, 2021Liked by Jeanna Kadlec

Wow yes very much adding that to my TBR pile!

I am stepping away from some work responsibilities that dictated where the vast majority of my reading time needed to be spent, so I'm very excited to read more non-fiction and poetry, and to do it more slowly and with intention this year.

I'm back this week from my 11 day MFA virtual residency (it's a low residency program) so I'm basically super pissed that I have to do anything other than write or talk about writing. Capitalism blows.

That said... I did re-outline my novel and make a plan for my first pass at a full draft revision which is exciting!! And Terrifying!! But I'm making sure to include rest in the schedule because *gestures at entire world*

Expand full comment
author

Oh, how exciting to get to free up some bandwidth for more NF and poetry! I hear you re: creative energy going toward work meaning that you don't have a lot left for your own devices.

Congratulations on re-outlining your novel! Sending you all good things for the full draft revision. Slow and steady wins the race, etc. etc. You've got this!

Expand full comment

I'm glad you had the chance to take a well-deserved vacation, Jeanna! Rest is one of my top priorities this year. I even scheduled 3-day weekends through the end of February for some mandatory down time after last year's whirlwind. When I got to Thursday and remembered I had no deadlines or meetings on Monday to worry about...what a gift! (Especially after this week's cosmic anxiety pile-up...whew.) Currently wondering if I can get away with 3-day weekends all year long...

Expand full comment
author

Thank you, Kristen! And I *love love love* that you are building in 3-day weekends through the end of Feb -- I mean, hell, if you can do it at the top of the year, why not shoot for all year? THE DREAM. Seems really restorative.

Expand full comment
Jan 22, 2021Liked by Jeanna Kadlec

Adding How to Do Nothing to the top 3 of my "Need to Read Next" list (Pleasure Activism and How Long Til Black Future Month have been patiently waiting for me).

Between all of the *waves hands frantically towards map of the USA* and my first real Make-or-Break events at my new job, making it to Friday is a blessing in itself. Rest was not on the agenda this week.

It doesn't help that with all of the messages of MOBILIZE and HOLD THEM ACCOUNTABLE, I spiraled a bit thinking about how to be even more more more for my community. My sister really brought it back into perspective for me on Wednesday:

"All of this work should be about empathy and support, and if we can't offer that to ourselves then this is just another kind of performative work... You are more than what you do when you work. When you are just being, there are ways to exude the things you value, too"

My creative output was drafting a very long, angry email to INC for publishing a piece about how we should celebrate Dr. King's legacy via "inclusive capitalism". All at once angering, cathartic and inventive.

So, in short, rest is mandatory this weekend.

Expand full comment
author

This week was a lot and it sounds like you did a lot! Congrats on your first event at your new job — that's huge! You made it to Friday! I hope you can relax this weekend in whatever way is best for you.

And yes, HTDN is so good! Can't wait to get everyone on that ttrain, lol.

Expand full comment
Jan 22, 2021Liked by Jeanna Kadlec

!!!!!! I read How to Do Nothing about two years ago now and I still haven't shut up about it. I kinda try to get everyone to read it, even though I know the ponderous pacing isn't for everyone, LOL. But gosh, I'm so happy to hear you're enjoying it.

Expand full comment
author

It's such an excellent read! So smart, and the kind of book you just want to take all kinds of notes in the margins in. Any similar reads you've enjoyed?

Expand full comment
Jan 22, 2021Liked by Jeanna Kadlec

This isn't a book, but this LRB pice is *such* a good companion to HTDN https://www.lrb.co.uk/the-paper/v41/n04/patricia-lockwood/the-communal-mind. Basically, the author is trying to document the mental experience of scrolling through Twitter, and it's a portrait of the context collapse effect that Odell is really fixated on.

Expand full comment