14 Comments
Dec 11, 2020Liked by Jeanna Kadlec

It wasn't quite reading, but I attended a virtual event last night hosted by The Rumpus & Books are Magic that featured some of my favourite authors & Melissa Febos read a condensed version of a story of hers that made me insanely excited about her new book Girlhood that comes out next year. I cried ALOT, everyone was so generous & lovely. As far as resting, does beating myself up for not getting enough work done while fetal-ing around my cat count? One thing I have started doing is just playing whatever Netflix is recommending, to try to let my poor executive function have a wee break. This led to me watching Moneyball on a Wednesday night & there is nothing I care about less than baseball other than BASEBALL STATS, but Brad Pitt has a very nice face & he didn't turn out to be a Bad Dad, so that was refreshing.

Expand full comment
author

I am also so excited for GIRLHOOD!

Re: resting — I think we all know the answer re: beating yourself up for not getting enough done! Fetal'ing with pets sounds perfect and needed. Sometimes you really do just need to Netflix/Hulu/Disney+/whatever and feed yourself some new (or nostalgic) stories.

Expand full comment
Dec 11, 2020Liked by Jeanna Kadlec

I feel like ideas around "belonging" have been smacking me in the face all week. Taking & making space, esp virtually. Who gets to asserts belonging/allowance into a community? It's been nagging at me enough that it's been affecting my ability to rest. But I found that the most peace I've had this week was at 4:30A on Wednesday morning, after waking up from an anxiety nightmare. Laid out my yoga mat near my window, journaled (and cried), did some breathing exercises, and did a single-card pull (3 of Pentacles). Thankful for routines that bring you back to the self.

Expand full comment
author

Those are such powerful themes to be working with. Belonging is so real!

"Routines that bring you back to the self" - YES. Personally, finding a profound need to get back into meditation. This is a good reminder!

Expand full comment
Dec 11, 2020Liked by Jeanna Kadlec

This week felt very heavy so I was being lead to rest. However I have been thinking a lot about how I want to show up though my words. I’ve been exploring healing and grief but more from a self forgiveness standpoint.

Expand full comment
author

Whew, that's so real - listening when our bodies & minds are craving rest is so real.

Also, self-forgiveness. Love. <3 Thank you for sharing.

Expand full comment
Dec 12, 2020Liked by Jeanna Kadlec

This week I’m reading: a new Tana French. I finally finished Dublin Murders and am now onto The Witch Elm and I’m reading The Hero With A Thousand Faces.

This has been a hell of a week. I go through up and down phases but this week has been a real downer. I guess I knew deep down the timeline for vaccines, but hearing from my hospital that non patient facing roles are looking at late spring to late summer for first dose was rough news. I did some Yoga With Adriene in the dark by candlelight and really just have gone to sleep at an obscenely early hour all week.

This weekend I will be letter writing/decorating.

Question: last week I saw an astrologists gift guide and on it was a book about writing as magic/spell writing. Longshot: Does anyone know what this book is? I didn’t save it and now I can’t find the page that recommended it?

Expand full comment
author

Woof, that is rough news. I'm so sorry to hear that (and, as someone outside the medical industry, really surprised and appalled that folks in non-patient facing roles are looking at that timeline for a vaccine).

I didn't see that list, but the book that pings my radar immediately is Lisa Marie Basile's absolutely *wonderful* MAGICAL WRITING GRIMOIRE, which I both have and have also really enjoyed and would recommend.

Expand full comment

I think this is pretty much the timeline for anyone not a frontline worker, senior, nursing home or serious pre existing condition. - thank you! I will look up this book!

Expand full comment

Thanks for the work you do in hospitals that help us all...

Expand full comment

Thank you again for this! I love seeing what people are doing/reading/etc.

What have you read this week that you loved?

+ Catching up on so many Patreons I support - Diana Rose has a series on tarot pentacles as ancestor work that always has SO MUCH good stuff in it. I also absolutely love Tiny Parsnip's blog series on Black activism and the Major Arcana

How did you rest this week?

+ Literally just sleep! It's been so hard to get up and get going/motivated every day but I am trying to sleep as much as my body wants and is feasible.

What is on deck for you creatively this weekend — input or output wise?

+ I just took an Alex Franzen and Lindsey Smith class on actually getting things done that gave me SO MANY ideas for coming weeks which was kind of the point, lol. I also am giving a talk that I finished writing today on Sunday on queering the witches' Wheel of the Year and in general using Sabbats as a form of accessible magick in and of themselves.

What themes are you exploring in your work right now, whether on the backburner, on daily walks, in dreams, or through writing?

+ Soooo much about all these walls I have built up. I think that's probably the theme for like. A while.

Expand full comment
author

This is all so rich and wonderful! I also love Diana's Patreon, it's so excellent.

Sleep sounds excellent - the last few degrees of Jupiter and Saturn in Cap are definitely an intense and good time to be resting and integrating lessons.

Good luck on your talk! That sounds lovely!

Expand full comment

My capacity to read has been a bit lost but I'm still reading and listening to the podcast about Parable of the Sower.

My partner and I have also been going for sunset walks every day which has been lovely. And I insisted to doctors trying to get me to lose weight that I be adequately assessed for ADHD and other neurodivergences if they want to get serious about my "eating habits" since they are controlled by my executive function more than anything else. Phew it has been a lot!

Expand full comment
author

Oh that podcast sounds FAB. As do sunset walks. This year has been so much to manage and we all really are doing the best we can. Xx

Expand full comment