14 Comments

Monday's eclipse hit like an explosion--Sag is my 3rd house (Gemini my 9th) so this eclipse season has been filled with a lot of promise in my writing/publishing career. I got a response from a press where I'd queried my book...ON MONDAY...saying that they were going to move it up to the next level of review. I'd been putting more weight in the impending Jupiter/Saturn conjunction (happening on my IC, in my 5th house, where I have my moon--and I'm a Cancer sun), so I didn't expect to see big things necessarily happening with Monday's eclipse, but now I'm even more psyched for the conjunction!!

Expand full comment
author

What exciting news! Eclipses tend to bring things in more suddenly than long-term transits like The Great Conjunction — thank you for sharing! Sending you all the best of luck. Xx

Expand full comment

I have a new puppy, and he is inspiring all kinds of thoughts about mortality. How odd it is to get a new pet, knowing that if all goes well, someday I'll be facilitating the end of his life. How we have children hoping that, best case scenario, someday they will be mourning us. How we are all like time markers for each other, none of us knowing how much time we have together any more than my puppy knows the shape of our backyard when he goes sniffing around out there, trying to find the measure of his new world. He's inspired a little bit of writing, too, though mostly he chews on my notebook. Nonetheless, I finished an essay about Dostoevsky and Amazon this week and posted it on Medium. It feels so good to finish something!

Expand full comment
author

Congrats on the new puppy! All of that sounds very real. We love a new writing companion, tho! Xx

Expand full comment

OMG, he is the best writing companion. Turns out we have the same taste in music, too. With Woody by my side, and my new Kevin Morby album on the turntable, I hope this week to finish another essay that I've been struggling with for a while.

Expand full comment

I had an essay come out on Monday. It brought with it a lot of validation, which I'm grateful for. I feel like I've spent the past two years just sort of fumbling around in the dark trying to figure out what it means to be a writer, trying to understand what type of storyteller I want to be. And Monday brought with it a lot of reassurance. I've got another weekend of reading ahead, which feels right with all of the snowfall! My hope is to finish reading "My Autobiography of Carson McCullers" by Jenn Shapland. I know I'm late to the game, but I love it!

Expand full comment
author

AHHHH your essay is on my to-read! This week has been so nuts!

"I feel like I've spent the past two years just sort of fumbling around in the dark trying to figure out what it means to be a writer, trying to understand what type of storyteller I want to be." This is so real, babe. So so real. It's the process that is never-ending and keeps on going! But I'm so glad that you got a healthy dose of assurance, validation, and renewal. Xx

Expand full comment

Thank you, Jeanna!

Expand full comment

I didn't have the awesome bustling week that many folks did. I feel like I'm crawling out of a slow, low, bubbling nightmare time. A big blast of "Woo" energy did arrive for a bit, enabling me to do a couple Tarot readings and podcast episode; that felt good. Members of my family emerged from Covid infections intact. My editor got his first pitch from me in months... so yeah! I guess that is relatively bustling.

But I still feel like I'm being squished under Saturn's thumb. The Covid illnesses + not bringing my child to Christmas with the infected folks amplified problems in my birth family, how we communicate, all my childhood issues. As soon as I felt a bit better, I got three pieces of bad news from friends and family, people dealing with accidents, suicide, and death by old age. It was quite a jolt. Having *some* energy to help them felt good. (I'm a medium as well, so when friends or their partners die, sometimes I hear from the recently deceased.)

I daresay I'm just kind of whining here. Uhhhh, I'll stop now.

Anyway... yeah. Thanks for opening these topics to us. Truly appreciated.

Expand full comment
author

This is all very real and intense and really speaks to how some of these major transition times are not just all happy-happy-joy-joy but also pathways for real grief and intensity. I hope that you can find some space to take care of yourself and process. <3

Expand full comment
Dec 18, 2020Liked by Jeanna Kadlec

Monday was bustling with energy for me - loads of productivity including writing up my first article, planning for the new year with clients, and thinking about social media strategy in the coming weeks. This weekend I need to overhaul an article and hopefully do some more creating, looking forward to reading more from you and guiding my creative process with these insights!

Expand full comment
author

What a busy week! Sounds rich and exciting. Sending you all the good things for the weekend.

Expand full comment

Finished up all my mandatory client work so I can finish off the rest of the year working on my novel. Seems like a fitting parallel to Saturn leaving Capricorn and entering Aquarius haha

Expand full comment
author

YES I love this so much! The rest of the year for your own creative work? Could not be more of a fan. <3 Goddess speed!

Expand full comment